Infidelity

Another broken promise
Another lost and lonely tear,
Traveling gently down your cheek
It seems we’ve been this way for years.

Another moment’s pleasure
Ends in another night of hell.
Smoldering embers of your love
Drenched in a downpour of betrayal.

The pain within your soul
Glistens softly in your eyes.
Those tears are worse than anger
But it’s too late to recognize.

I brush my thumb across your cheek
To erase the testament of your pain.
Lower my head to kiss your mouth
And on your lips it still remains.

I take you in my arms
Cause I don’t know what else to say.
Thinking maybe if I can touch that place
I can make it go away.

Yet even as you pull me close
And accept all I have to give,
I see it’s more for you than me;
just an escape that’s transitive.

I know now that roses wither
And some thorns are part of life.
Yet nothing prepared me for the way
You pricked my soul tonight.

As i lie here in your loving arms
Thinking we can make it through;
The words that drip
From those venomous lips
Is “Baby I have secrets too.”
We all cheat…

About prometheus360

searching for myself in a wasteland of illusions, bleeding my life through a pen to fertilize the landscape of my chaotic mind. whatever i find, whatever i see, whatever i feel, i shall bind to my soul for eternity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

